Budget
  • FILE PHOTO: A combine drives over stalks of soft red winter wheat during the harvest on a farm in Dixon, Illinois

    Is Trump's $28 Billion Bailout Paying Farmers Too Much?

    By Michael Rainey

    The Trump administration is spending $28 billion to bail out farmers hurt by the president’s trade war with China – a huge sum that some experts say overestimates the economic losses inflicted by the...

  • New Trump Food Stamp Rule Will Cut 700,000 from Program

    By Michael Rainey

    The White House said Wednesday that it has finalized a rule that will tighten work requirements for participants in the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, or SNAP. The new rule could result...

  • The Ohio-class ballistic missile submarine USS Tennessee returns to Naval Submarine Base Kings Bay, Georgia in this handout photo

    Navy Awards Largest Shipbuilding Contract Ever

    By Michael Rainey

    The U.S. Navy awarded a contract Monday worth more than $22 billion to build nine new attack submarines. The agreement with General Dynamics Electric Boat includes an option for a 10 th sub, which...

  • Dome of the U.S. Capitol Building

    On Congress’s To-Do List: Prevent a Shutdown in 18 Days

    Congressional appropriators back from their Thanksgiving recess have just three weeks to hammer out details on dozens of policy differences over federal funding for fiscal year 2020, which started on...

  • A homeless woman sits on a bench few blocks away from the White House in downtown Washington

    Chart of the Day: Record Low Poverty Rate

    By Michael Rainey

    The extensive array of government assistance programs — including Social Security, unemployment insurance, veterans’ benefits, nutritional aid, rental assistance and the Earned Income Tax Credit —...

Budget Directory

Tags
Tuesday, July 30, 2013 - 5:26pm
Thursday, July 25, 2013 - 4:19am
Wednesday, July 24, 2013 - 4:09am
Wednesday, July 10, 2013 - 4:26am
Wednesday, July 10, 2013 - 4:23am
Sunday, July 7, 2013 - 10:33pm
Thursday, June 27, 2013 - 7:19pm
Tuesday, June 11, 2013 - 8:24pm
Sunday, June 9, 2013 - 5:06am
Friday, June 7, 2013 - 4:09am
Thursday, June 6, 2013 - 7:52pm
Wednesday, May 29, 2013 - 4:04am
Thursday, May 23, 2013 - 4:01am
Wednesday, May 22, 2013 - 4:31am
Friday, May 10, 2013 - 4:05am
Friday, May 3, 2013 - 4:05am
Thursday, April 25, 2013 - 4:08am
Tuesday, April 23, 2013 - 4:12am
Thursday, April 18, 2013 - 4:06am
Thursday, April 11, 2013 - 4:18am
Thursday, April 11, 2013 - 3:21am
Wednesday, April 10, 2013 - 9:15pm
Wednesday, April 10, 2013 - 5:15pm
Wednesday, April 10, 2013 - 2:33pm
Wednesday, April 10, 2013 - 4:06am
Friday, March 22, 2013 - 4:03am
Thursday, March 21, 2013 - 4:12am
Wednesday, March 20, 2013 - 6:28pm
Thursday, March 14, 2013 - 4:07am
Wednesday, March 13, 2013 - 4:12am
Wednesday, March 13, 2013 - 4:11am
Tuesday, March 12, 2013 - 4:19am
Sunday, March 10, 2013 - 5:02am

Pages